Retrospective: Blithe Island

Been finishing off Issue 3 of The Campaigner, so haven’t had much hobby time. However, while looking through my archives, I stumbled across something I had almost forgotten about.

Back in 2001 myself and some friends played a very brief Warhammer campaign. From memory, there was a series of articles in White Dwarf that talked about a studio campaign that they held, set on an island. Of course, we decided to run a campaign too, and equally of course, it was set on an island. Okay, so we weren’t entirely original back them.

030313-blitheisland

This was the map of the island, called Blithe Island (for reasons I cannot recall or fathom). There were six of us playing, though I believe that ‘Dave’ never ended up playing a game.

030313-map2

The end of the first turn sees a few additional features added to the map. Where we could, we tried to connect existing locations together, like putting villages on a road or a bridge over a river.

030313-map3

The end of the second turn see’s James and Jarryd finally choose army names.  Also, I like the idea that there was a settlement of wizards here at some point. Imagine a bustling village you see in any fantasy setting, but inhabited entirely by cloaked and bearded old men.

030313-map4

End of turn three, and as far into the campaign as we got. It should be noted now, I was playing as Clan Vestren, and could apparently only generate towns.

There we have it, a three turn campaign. Not the shortest campaign we ever ran, though also not the longest. I think this falls into the middle point.

I also uncovered some other equally as embarrassing old material that I will post up at some point.

Tags: ,

About matt

Freelance Graphic Designer, thinker, and Warhammer tragic.

3 responses to “Retrospective: Blithe Island”

  1. Jarryd says :

    I dont even recall this campaign! I think the only thing i remember was laughing hysterically at you rolling towns all the time.

    Who was Dave?

  2. Jarryd says :

    Also it may have taken a while but my army name was certainly the coolest. The question is what race was i playing? Sounds elvish

  3. matt says :

    The James in this I believe refers to Ziggy, so Dave would have been Ziggy’s mate, uh, Dave. He played a couple of my Warhammer Quest campaigns, but I don’t think you were in those.

    Also, I think you were Chaos, for some reason. I remember later, in the Callow Kingdoms campaign I think, you played as High Elves and then switched to Tomb Kings. I believe this is the first time you played as the High Elves, so you couldn’t have been the elves in this campaign.

Leave a Reply

