Towering

Wow. We are in November already!

I only realised the other day, I have only been to one tournament this year. Scandalous!

Today I was turfed from the house while the other half cleaned up. She had a cocktail party the other night, and there were various substances smeared on the floor. Food substances! No need to be filthy!

So I decided to take the time to make a start on my gap project, before I start painting an obscene amount of spear wielding Clanrats. I want to build some Skaven specific terrain, but the challenge is that the Skaven don’t really have a defined architectural look. Generally anything you see is a building ‘appropriated’ from another race. As a first attempt, this seemed like a good place to start.

In my terrain collection currently there is the bog standard pieces. A couple of houses, and a couple of woods. The new rules really bring strong tactical advantage to heavier structures, like towers, so I decided to start there. Using the plastic tower Brad left with me I sketched up a rough idea, which is above.

So this is the base of my Skaven tower terrain. It is actually the tower from Battle Masters, a board game made by Milton Bradley a decade or so back. It has a few minor problems, like the pieces not really joining together in a way that is flush, but this can be fixed with some blue and Milliput. Also, if you really look at the door placements (there is one on the front as in the picture, and one on the back at the top of a small staircase) you can see that the floor doesn’t really line up. The second door would be opening up half way down the first levels floor, like an elevator that has opened before fully reaching a floor. Lastly, that banner/persian rug moulded on the front is ghastly. Ghastly, I say!

All those issues aside, it is a good starting point to begin trying out some ideas and techniques.

This will be the base, made from 25m MDF board. I popped around to my parents house and got the old man to cut it out with a jigsaw. I would have done it myself, but I am not game to even hazard attempting it. If I am going to accidentally jigsaw someones cutting bench, I would prefer that it was my own.

Tags: ,

About matt

Freelance Graphic Designer, thinker, and Warhammer tragic.

One response to “Towering”

  1. Randroid says :

    I remember those towers. I think it will work well when you are all done.

    Will you be building up to that base so it is sloped and “natural” looking?

Leave a Reply

